Posted by: lindsayhumbert | January 2, 2010

Spotlight on “Glee”

I have a new guilty pleasure: Glee. I haven’t seen every episode, so by no means am I claiming to be an expert or a junkie. But the show is endearing in its mix of impressive singing voices and shaky camera shots. One thing I noticed Glee does is use spotlighting during certain songs to enhance the performance vibe. One example is when a former Glee Club-er  April sings”Maybe This Time” for the current Glee Club to prove she’s still got it. Another is the “Defying Gravity” diva-off between Kurt and Rachel. Although both performances take place in the Glee Club’s rehearsal room, a few lines into each song the April and Kurt’s faces become illuminated similarly to stage lighting.  It’s a cool little effect that I missed during Mercedes’ rendition of “And I am Telling You I’m Not Going.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

