Posted by: lindsayhumbert | June 30, 2010

The Brilliance of Pixar

As much as the nation is loving Disney and Pixar’s “Toy Story 3″ right now, that’s not what this post is about. [By the way, does anyone know if Andy had any people friends as a kid?]

Mr. Fredricksen had the right idea

The ingenuity I’m currently fixated on, as I procrastinate packing for my weekend trip, comes from their 2009 masterpiece “Up.”  The niftiest part of Carl Fredricksen’s transportation to Paradise Falls, is that traveling in your house completely eliminates the problem of forgetting something at home.  In the words of resident Wilderness Explorer Russell, “most people take a plane, but you’re smart because you’ll have all your TV and clocks and stuff.”  [Although I typically don’t fret about not packing my clocks.]

I have never enjoyed packing, although over the years I have gotten better at it.  My preference to always be prepared conflicts with the popular preference to pack light. What if our hotel has a pool?…I’ll need flip flops.  What if it has a gym?…I’ll need sneakers.  What if we go somewhere nice for dinner?…I’ll need heels.  And that’s just the footwear.

Walmart count: 0

Should ‘what ifs’ like these keep you up all night (packing, of course) I have some words of wisdom for you.  To quote my mother, “There are stores there, too.”  Well, except for where Mr. Fredricksen was going.

Leave a Reply

Categories

